About WPA
The WPA is psychiatry’s global association representing 140 psychiatric societies in 120 countries, and bringing together more than 250,000 psychiatrists.  It promotes collaborative work in psychiatry through its 70 scientific Sections, education programs, publications and events. 
Quick Links
Follow Us
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
© 2019 WPA All Rights Reserved

What is the Board?

Eighteen board members (also known as zonal representatives) across five world regions act as mediators between the association’s member societies and governing bodies of WPA.  These are elected roles, voted on every three years at the General Assembly during the WPA World Congress of Psychiatry.

 

Board members play a key coordinating role within their WPA zones. They encourage collaboration among WPA Member Societies in their zone and stimulate their participation in WPA activities; support the dissemination of WPA-related information and educational materials; and assist the executive committee in ascertaining the needs of member societies and the ways in which these needs can be met. 

Board Members

Karandeep Sonu Gaind

Edmond Hsin-tung Pi

Zone 2--United States of America

ehpi@usc.edu

Virginia Rosabal

Zone 3--Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean

virginiarosabal@gmail.com

Silvia Gaviria

Zone 4--Northern South America

sgaviria2@hotmail.com; slgaviria@ces.edu.co

Alfredo Cia

Zone 5--Southern South America

alfredocia@gmail.com

Gisèle Apter

Zone 6--Western Europe

gisele.apter@ch-havre.fr

Jyrki Korkeila

Zone 7--Northern Europe

jyrki.korkeila@pp.inet.fi

Zvi Zemishlany

Zone 8--Southern Europe

zemishlany@gmail.com

Stojan Bajraktarov

Zone 9--Central Europe

stojan.bajraktarov@gmail.com

Oleg Skugarevsky

Zone 10--Eastern Europe

skugarevsky@gmail.com

Owoidoho Udofia

Zone 13--Central and Western Africa

drudofia@gmail.com; udofia@unical.edu.ng

Nahla Nagy

Zone 11--Northern Africa

nahlanagy64@yahoo.com

David M. Ndetei

Zone 14--Eastern & Southern Africa

dmndetei@uonbi.ac.ke; dmndetei@amhf.or.ke

Suhaila Ghuloum

Zone 12--Middle East

sghuloum@hamad.qa

Khalid Attaullah Mufti

Zone 15--Central and Western Asia

kamufti2001@gmail.com

M S V K Raju

Zone 16--Southern Asia

msvkraju@gmail.com

Winston Shen

Zone 17--Eastern Asia

shenwinw@gmail.com

Allister Bush

Zone 18--Australasia and the South Pacific

allister.bush@ccdhb.org.nz