December 2013
Netherlands Psychiatric Association

Aartjan Beekman, the new president of the Netherlands Psychiatric Association

On 1 January 2013, Professor Aartjan T. F. Beekman was appointed president of the Netherlands Psychiatric Association. He succeeds Professor Rutger Jan van der Gaag whoin turn has been appointed President of the Royal Dutch Medical Association (KNMG), the federation of all medical associations in the Netherlands.

Aartjan Beekman is head of the psychiatry department of the VUmc University Medical Center Amsterdam and since 2008 a member of the board of directors of GGZinGeest Amsterdam. He is a practicing psychiatrist and a leading researcher in the field of affectivedisorders. Within the Netherlands Psychiatric Association he has played an active role for many years in various committees.

Two other active members, Dr. Wiepke Cahn and Dr. Roxanne Vernimmen, have been appointed members of the board of the Netherlands Psychiatric Association as of 1 January 2013. Wiepke Cahn is a schizophrenia researcher and practicing psychiatrist at the University Medical Center Utrecht, and Roxanne Vernimmen is chairwoman of the board of directors at Altrecht.

Furthermore, Noortje Sax succeeded in August 2012 Peter Niesink as managing director of the Netherlands Psychiatric Association. This year the Netherlands Psychiatric Association will concentrate on the shift from in-patient to out-patient psychiatric care, the financing of psychiatric disorders, the battle against stigma in psychiatry as well as the position of the psychiatrist as medical specialist.

Nevertheless, the patient is, and always will be, the ultimate focus of the Netherlands Psychiatric Association.

Daniëla CohenNetherlands

Psychiatric Association




Read All || Archive


WPA Meetings

Read All


WPA Newsletter

Read All


E - Learning

Signup || Login

Register Now

To Receive Updates / Newsletter

WPA Secretariat

Powered By Logicsoft
© 2015 All right reserved World Psychiatric Association