News from the Association of Psychiatrists in Nigeria

News from the Association of Psychiatrists in Nigeria


Dr. Oyewusi Gureje receives award

Left to Right: His Excellency, Alhaji Umaru Musa Yar’Adua, President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, and Professor Oye Gureje displaying the prize at the conferment of the award of Nigerian National Order of Merit at Aso Rock Abuja, Nigeria.

Oyewusi Gureje PhD, DSc, FWACP(Psych), FMCPsych, FRCANZPsych, FRCPsych, Professor and Head, Department of Psychiatry, University College Hospital, Ibadan and College of Medicine, University of Ibadan, Ibadan who is also the President of the Association of Psychiatrists in Nigeria was conferred with the award of the Nigerian National Order of Merit (NNOM) by the President of Nigeria, His Excellency Alhaji Umaru Musa Yar’Adua on the 16th of December 2008 for exceptional industry and academic excellence in the field of Medicine.  The conferment followed his selection in a highly competitive and rigorous process, by the Nigerian National Merit Award Committee, among several distinguished national and international academics who were nominated for awards.

The NNOM is the highest honour given to academicians who have distinguished themselves in their field of endeavor by the Government of Nigeria. Professor Gureje, the youngest of the three winners of the 2008 prizes, shared the turf with the Nobel Laureate Professor Wole Soyinka and Professor Chuwuemeka Ike whose contributions are in the literary arts. By this award, Professor Oye Gureje has joined the league of 57 most distinguished Nigerians recognized for their excellent contributions in academia within and outside the country since the commencement of the award 25 years ago. The WPA Zone 13 members congratulate their immediate past representative and wish him more success in life even as he uses his new status to project the specialty positively in Nigeria and beyond.

JD Adeyemi,

WPA Representative for Central and West Africa (Zone 13)



« Back
Send this to a colleague