March 2010
Australian of the Year

Prof. Patrick McGorryThe Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists congratulates Professor Patrick McGorry on being named the 2010 Australian of the Year.

Professor McGorry was presented with the award by the Australian Prime Minister Kevin Rudd at Parliament House in Canberra on 25 January 2010.

The Prime Minister paid tribute to the profound effect of Professor McGorry’s work, and thanked him for raising awareness of the major problem of youth mental illness. "The incredible influence of his work, the number of young Australians and their families whose lives have been improved, and the value of his contribution to the nation cannot ever fully be measured,” Mr. Rudd said.

"With this award, we recognise that we have in Professor McGorry a leader whose drive, compassion, and commitment to understanding and treating youth mental illness has helped shaped not only lives, but our national approach to mental health intervention, prevention and treatment" said Mr. Rudd.

Professor McGorry is Executive Director of Orygen Youth Health, a world-renowned youth mental health service which has placed Australia at the forefront of innovation in the early intervention and treatment of mental illness. He is also a Director of the National Youth Mental Health Foundation (headspace) and is passionate about caring for young people with mental health issues. For more than 25 years, he has contributed to the improvement of the youth mental health sector to help transform the lives of tens of thousands of young people here and around the world.




Read All || Archive


WPA Meetings

Read All


WPA Newsletter

Read All


E - Learning

Signup || Login

WPA Secretariat

Powered By Logicsoft
© 2016 All right reserved World Psychiatric Association