top of page

Professor Hannelore Ehrenreich named winner of the 2020 Jean Delay prize.

Updated: Apr 7, 2021

Professor Hannelore Ehrenreich

During the 20th WPA World Congress of Psychiatry earlier this month, immediate past-President of the World Psychiatric Association, Professor Helen Herrman, announced Professor Hannelore Ehrenreich as the winner of the 2020 Jean Delay prize.

Professor Hannelore Ehrenreich is a remarkable and distinguished winner, and is the first woman to win the prize. Not only is she a psychiatrist, but she is also a veterinarian and physician of neurology and psychiatry. Her work extends from molecular-cellular characterisation of disease-relevant phenotypes to genotype-phenotype associations of human and animal behaviour and to clinical studies; and beyond that, to the promotion of science and psychiatry in society. She has won numerous awards and honours in Europe and the USA, and is currently working as Professor of Neurology & Psychiatry and Head of Clinical Neuroscience at the Max Planck Institute of Experimental Medicine, which is located in Göttingen, Germany.

Professor Hannelore Ehrenreich's full CV can be reviewed here.

The WPA Jean Delay Prize is psychiatry’s most prestigious award. Conferred triennially by the World Psychiatric Association at its World Congress of Psychiatry, the Prize bears the name of the first president of the WPA and commemorates his own significant contributions to the practice of psychiatry in the 20th century.

The Prize was established in 1999 to honour distinguished colleagues who have "1) made a noteworthy contribution to the biological, psychological or social aspects of psychiatry, or 2) built useful bridges between them".

The award winner is selected by an international jury of experts, and is invited to deliver a plenary lecture at the WPA World Congress of Psychiatry. From the beginning, a generous unrestricted grant from SERVIER has made this award possible.

The past awardees include:

1. Professor David Goldberg in 1999

2. Professor Hagop Akiskal in 2002

3. Professor Otto Steenfeldt-Foss in 2005

4. Professor Hans-Jürgen Möller in 2008

5. Professor Kenneth S Kendler in 2011

6. Professor Mitsumoto Sato in 2014

7. Professor Jules ANGST in 2017

We would like to offer our warm congratulations to Professor Ehrenreich and thank her for her contribution to psychiatry. You can view Professor Ehrenreich's Jean Delay Prize plenary lecture given at the 20th WCP Annual Congress here (please note, you will need your Congress login details to view the lecture).

Author: WPA



bottom of page