top of page

The Jean Delay Prize is the most important award of the WPA: it bears the name of Jean Delay, the President of the first World Congress of Psychiatry (Paris, 1950) and the first President of our Association. Jean Delay was one of the most important psychiatrists of the 20th century. He introduced chlorpromazine in the treatment of psychotic disorders and described for the first time the antidepressant effect of isoniazide, both in 1952.  In fact, he was both a great scientist and humanist. His eminent disciples include Pierre Pichot, Pierre Denicker, and Raymond Sadoun.

The Jean Delay Prize is made possible thanks to the generous support of SERVIER

Nominations now open until 7 February 2020

bottom of page